My Christmas Present…

GoofballMy Christmas present this year is a Toshiba Satellite L305d-S5900 Laptop. Unfortunately it’s hardware failed with in a day, and started repeatedly BSODing. It was terribly annoying considering I spent the first day setting it all up to be my Photography computer.

A quick jaunt back to the store, and quick and painless return, and I had another one. I’ve had no problems yet. After a doing some research, I haven’t found many problems with this particular model. It appears to be pretty damn solid, and I will continue to recommend it to others. Although, the web cam doesn’t take a flattering picture.

This is a first for me in two ways. It’s my first laptop, something I have been avoiding getting for a long time. I’ve built every PC I’ve ever owned with the exception of the first one, and you cannot build a laptop (well… I’m sure you can, but I haven’t the skill for that). But I wanted something I can work my photography on, and so I can start writing again. Something I can take with me on photography shoots.

Second, this is my first time dealing with Windows Vista. To tell you the truth, I don’t much care for it. Oh there are some good things about it, but the annoyance factors are multiple. I don’t like the fact it asks me for permission to do things I told it to do! Seriously, cut the shit, it would increase my productivity tenfold if I didn’t have to tell it to do everything twice. I want to be able to tell it how much hard drive space to use for system restore. At one check, it was using 15 gb in system restore points. There’s no need for that. Also, put all the settings back where they were in XP so I can find them! I spend more time looking for things than actually getting stuff done. And stop denying me access to parts of my hard drive! I want to see what the hell your hiding in there…

The list goes on and on, but I won’t bore you with the details. According to this story, I can wipe the hard drive and install XP. If I was sure this would work, and all the features would be available to me, I would certainly try it. Who knows, maybe in the future, if Vista becomes too much of a hog, I’ll give it a shot. There’s a learning curve to all new operating system (trying Linux if you’ve never admined a linux box before), so I’m sure in the long run it will work out fine.

And I’ve already wrote the first couple pages to my first short story in decades.

I hope everyone had a happy holiday and got what they wanted, I did 🙂

And a Happy New Year if I don’t get to post before the first.

Mike

Leave a Reply

